Two key changes in the rules & regulations of CPL

Caribbean Premier League
Trinbago Knight Riders celebrate winning the Caribbean Premier League 2017. © Getty Images

The cricketing globe awaits another thrilling season of leisure as only seven days remain till the start of the 6th season of Caribbean Premier League.

This year, the organisers of the Caribbean Premier League have decided to bring two key changes in rules & regulations of the league. The teams will now face a penalty of deduction in their net run-rate if they fail to complete their quota of 20 overs in the given time of 85 minutes. Umpires can permit for adding furthermore minutes in the specified time given a condition of stoppages in match due to any reasons. For every over bowled after the given time, a team will deal with an abstraction of 0.05 from their net run-rate.

Chris Gayle places the ball to the leg-side. © Getty Images

For any tied game, a toss will now be conducted before teams take the field to play the game deciding super over. Previously, it was necessary for a team chasing the target to bat first in the super over.

The defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders will take on St Lucia Stars on 9th August at Queen’s Park Oval to inaugurate this season of the Caribbean Premier League and both teams would be looking to boost their morale by starting their campaign on a high note.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments