All the revealed details you need to know about the newly announced UAE T20x

All the revealed details you need to know about the newly announced UAE T20X
Andre Russell, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, AB de Villiers, David Miller and Kumar Sangakkara are part of the newly announced UAE T20x. (Photo: Social media page of UAE T20x)

UAE is all set to host its first ever Twenty20 tournament in December-January as Emirates Cricket Board has decided to introduce their own league that will be played in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The league named “UAE T20x” is anticipated to be a big hit in the sporting history of United Arab Emirates as organizers aim to stage it in a grand manner for the major growth of cricket in UAE.

The South-African legend and one of the finest strikers of the ball, AB de Villiers, is appointed as the global ambassador of the league. He also has recently signed for the fourth edition of the Pakistan Super League which will begin in February 2019.

The league announced the participation of AB de Villiers in a video message that revealed him as the ambassador of the league.

“UAE T20x is a really exciting addition to the cricketing calendar, and its ambition to give more young, emerging cricketers, from around the world, the chance to play this format alongside some of the world’s best, is what really appealed to me,” said Mr. 360° in his message for the fans.

According to de Villiers, the main aim of UAE T20x would be to spread the fever of his beloved game in the United Arab Emirates and rest of the world.

“I’m delighted to be taking on this role as a T20x ambassador, particularly as it will be focused on helping to grow the game that I love in the UAE and around the world,” told former captain who represented South-Africa for 114 Tests, 228 ODI and 78 T20I.

The management of UAE T20x is gradually revealing the icon players of the league. The T20 specialists Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, David Miller, Shahid Afridi have confirmed their engagement as the icon players of the league. Another exciting addition to the star-studded line-up is of the legendary Sri-Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara as he has been revealed as the fifth icon of the newly announced T20 league recently.

Luke Wright, Luke Ronchi, Chris Gayle, JP Duminy and Brendon Taylor are also expected to be a part of the first season of UAE T20x.

Total five teams will participate in the tournament and each franchise will have 16 players in their team. All the squads will be formed with a unique combination of local and foreign players.

All the revealed details you need to know about the newly announced UAE T20x
(Photo: Social media page of UAE T20x)

The league will run for from December 19 to January 11 and 22 matches will be played across the cities of Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi.

It would be fascinating to see how UAE T20x will work out to turn itself into a center of attraction with all the many Twenty20 leagues scheduled in a calendar year and whether it will really be successful or not in its mission of becoming one of the top T20 leagues of the world.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments